School Board Elections Are Almost Here

Hannah Van Liere, Writer

Elections for school board are fast approaching. This year there are 14 candidates with four open seats on the board, including Linda Hayes (I), Dan Gosa (I), Mary Holloway, Karen Kline-Jerome, Kent Paustian, Michael DeVol, Jenner Kealey, Kai Dickmann, Jennifer Starr, Catarina Bolton, Kari Dugan, Lori Janke, Craig Piggott, and Gene Guy. Elected Board Members serve 4 year terms. The seats up for grabs are those of board members Ralph Johanson, Linda Hayes, Dan Gosa, and Julie DeSalvo. Elections are November 5, polls are open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m., and you have to be 18 or above to vote. If you are not pre-registered to vote 10 days before a general election, 11 days before all other elections, you can still vote. On Election Day, go to the polling place for the address where you currently live. There you can register and vote. You must contact your county auditor. Your county auditor has information regarding the location of your polling place.

You will need to show:
Proof of identity
A valid Iowa driver’s license or non-operator ID card,
A valid out-of-state driver’s license or non operator ID card,
Non-driver identification card,
U.S. passport,
U.S. military or veteran’s ID,
Proof of current residence
Residential lease,
Property tax statement,
Utility bill,
Bank statement,
Government check, or
Other government document.